Split JSON string and BASE64 conversion

Hello everybody,
I am a PLC programmer and the world of Node-Red is completely new to me.
I now want to read data from a small controller, which will be provided to me in a JSON format. The format looks like this:

msg.payload: string [52]
"{" OPERANDS ": {" MWSINGLE ": [{" INDEX ": 10," V ":" 6QI = "}]}}".

I want to show two values on the dashboard now. The "INDEX" value and the data value "V". The data value "V" is sent in a Base64 format and would have to be converted into a string.

It would be very friendly if someone could help me here in the forum.

Thanks and Greetings
Ralf

What have you tried so far?

I can give you some pointers, everything you need is already available in Node-RED. :slightly_smiling_face:

First, use a JSON node to parse your payload into a proper object.

Then use the change node to convert msg.payload.OPERANDS.MWSINGLE[0].V into a string using a JSONata expression (there a function for that called $base64decode(string)). Hope that helps as a starting point.

also read the docs, especially the page on working with messages which you should find useful

rather than a change node - just use a base64 node that is meant for this purpose :-)...

I had that in mind at first, too. But it replaces the payload and would require additional steps to save and restore the original message payload before and after.

With the JSONata and change node solution you can convert the property in place.

it can operate on any property within the message... works just fine.

1 Like

I have seen that, but I thought that it used to specify the input property to operate on, while the output would always be msg.payload (as for most of the other transforming nodes). Thanks for clarifying, works as advertised. :slightly_smiling_face:

It does - but it operates on and replaces the property selected - leaving the rest of payload (or whatever) - intact.

Hello and thank you for your replies.