Splitting Value

Firstly I am totally new to all of this so please be gentle with me, however, I am really struggling with splitting data to be able to display in to two Gauges. It is presented from a single API value and the range is from -3300 to +3300. Ideally what I would like is one Gauge displaying data from 0 to -3300 and one displaying +1 to +3300.

So far I have written a function with two outputs as follows:

var x = msg.payload.Pac_total_W;

if (x >=1){
var msg_0 = {payload : msg.payload.Pac_total_W}
return [msg_0]}
else if (x <=0){
var msg_1 = {payload : msg.payload.Pac_total_W}
return [msg_1]}

And used msg_0 and msg_1 as the outputs?

First off always surround your code with three back tics or you can highlight it and press the </> icon in the menu and it will iook like this:

if (x >=1) {
    var msg_0 = {payload : msg.payload.Pac_total_W}
    return [msg_0]}
else if (x <=0) {
    var msg_1 = {payload : msg.payload.Pac_total_W}
return [msg_1]}

What do you see if you attach a debug node on the outout of the function node?

When I run the debug it shows output on the first out but not the second one. I have attached a screenshot of the way I have the nodes configured.

The else isn't sending to the second output. Check the docs how to use multiple outputs
https://nodered.org/docs/writing-functions#multiple-outputs

Thanks for the document, that is what I used to write what I currently have, so I’m still not a 100% why the else statement isn’t working.

The very first example there shows you an array with two things in it... (one for each output)... how many things do you have in the arrays that you are returning? (hint: not 2)

if (x >=1){
  msg.payload = msg.payload.Pac_total_W;
  return [msg,null]//only trigger 1st output
}
else if (x <=0){
  return [null, msg]//only trigger 2nd output
}
return null; //dont trigger any output

Awesome!!!

So I now get it, I have made a slight change to the code after re-reading the Multiple Outputs doc...