Struggling with JavaScript syntax

Ok so I’m a newbie
Struggling with syntax

I have the following multicast being passed to a function in node-red

"<electricity id='xxxxxxxx' ver='2.0'><timestamp>1672667665</timestamp><signal rssi='-56' lqi='1'/><battery level='100%'/>

<channels><chan id='0'><curr units='w'>3928.00</curr><day units='wh'>21726.03</day></chan>

<chan id='1'><curr units='w'>0.00</curr><day units='wh'>0.00</day></chan>

<chan id='2'><curr units='w'>0.00</curr><day units='wh'>0.00</day></chan><chan id='3'><curr units='w'>0.00</curr><day units='wh'>0.00</day></chan><chan id='4'><curr units='w'>0.00</curr><day units='wh'>0.00</day></chan><chan id='5'><curr units='w'>0.00</curr><day units='wh'>0.00</day></chan></channels><property><current><watts>3928.00</watts><cost>139.44</cost></current><day><wh>21726.03</wh><cost>733.83</cost></day><tariff time='1672667665'><start>1672642800</start><curr_price>0.35</curr_price><block_limit>4294967295</block_limit><block_usage>12409</block_usage></tariff></property></electricity>"

I can add the RSSI to the MQTT payload ok using

msgmqtt.payload = "{\"Electricity\":{\"RSSI\":"
msgmqtt.payload += msg.payload.electricity.signal[0].$.rssi

But I can't work out the syntax for adding the <property><day><wh> which is 21726.03.

Be kind people the last code I wrote was in Assembler in the 80's

Hi and welcome to the forum. I've changed the title since Node-RED does not use Java but rather JavaScript which is, of course, very different. I've also changed the category to general since you aren't trying to create a custom node.

So the source data looks like XML? If so, try passing your msg through the xml node before your function node and you should be able to access it a lot easier.

Also, you don't need to create a text string in order to pass JSON to MQTT, just create a JavaScript object as your msg.payload and the MQTT node will take care of it for you.

Thanks for the rapid reply

Now I have to work out what that means