Table of Variables

Hi,
For transparency, I am not a programmer in C, C#, json etc, but by using multiple guides I got there!
I work with Crestron Simpl windows and my Simpl+ (C deriviant) is limited.

I have done a search but NodeRed is new to me.

A client asked me if I could look at a way of using Google Home to control his lighting system.
Crestron controls it using a RS485 protocol.

I have it working using a lot of functions....
I was thinking if it is possible to have a table of 'Room Hint' and assign a value, to cut down on the amount of functions I need.

IE The Kitchen in this project is Area 10
The command string I send for a room is always relevant to that area.
"@SS01:A10:F03"cr/lf ;selects scene1 in Area10

So if I was able to have a table like

Room Hint Area
Kitchen A10
Utility A11
Lounge A5

True SS01 ; Area On
False SS00 ; Area Off

How could I Create or store that table and then write the function to build the command.
IE
Google home switch function. Topic = Room Name, True (On)
Debug message for reference.
payload: true

topic: "Kitchen"

So the general output command would be
@'payload':'Topic':F03 but after processing it becomes "@SS01:A10:F03" cr/lf - which turns the light on, etc.

If someone could point me in the right direction to some links, it is not that I have much to do in the UK during LockDown3!

Hope my question makes sense!

Regards
Paul.

Not sure if i understand fully, but it sounds like you need to create a llok up table.

This can be done by creating a JSON with keys as device names and values as the information corresponding to the device. This can be stored in context storage as a global or in a database/textfile also.
Context would be easier and fairly simple.
https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/context
Maybe this will help you with lookup table
https://www.reddit.com/r/nodered/comments/9q7v3n/how_to_create_a_lookup_table/

Thank you so much for the links.

I have been trying to understand the code.