TCP buffer to readable decimal numbers?

I'm not a computer scientist. I don't know about buffers or bytes---nor do I want to.

I'm an engineer. I struggle plenty with my calculus and linear algebra and systems control. It's too much as is, frankly.

But I have a device sending an array with two values---pressure and temperature, say---into node-red through a TCP connection.

And for some mind-boggling reason, those numbers come in as buffers of bytes. I can't work with bytes. Or strings. I need numbers. The two numbers that my device communicated to node-red.

So how how how does a human get those numbers out of this TCP node that insists on providing buffers?

All my schooling was done in decimal numbers. All my math. All my programming. I know nothing about bytes and I wish wish wish I knew why node-red can't just give me numbers when I transmit numbers.

Thanks, I've tried it, but still nothing resembling the numbers being transmitted into node-red! It's so frustrating having your hands full already with challenging projects and having to pick up yet another science just to... get your numbers back in order to use them? Oy.

It's the nature of the beast. Data is transmitted in bytes, often reversed. There is no escaping that fact unless you have control over the transmission and you format it into something extensible like JSON.

If you can post sample data and the specification (e.g which bytes are supposed to be what type and what value) I will show you how.

Well that's the thing, Steve: I don't know what the bytes in the buffer are supposed to represent nor do I know what specification they're based on.

I work with decimal numbers. I've worked with decimal numbers exclusively since I started math class as a little kid. I have never once dealt with buffers or bytes.

And decimal is what I transmit to node-red. I can make sense of decimal. But a buffer of bytes is as good to me as a transmission from an alien civilization trying to teach me science.