The end of Darksky?

Topic moved to it's own thread from The end of Weather Underground!

1 Like

Darksky was just purchased by Apple. Not sure what effect this will have on the API, but their Android app is shuttering.

According to their blog:

API

Our API service for existing customers is not changing today, but we will no longer accept new signups. The API will continue to function through the end of 2021.

I think I'll try openweather now, but I'm tired of jumping around. It's just for hobby use (1 call per day)

2 Likes

Sad, but not surprising. Money makes the world go around. Thanks for the news!

I saw MET.no mentioned above, I’ve been using their API actively since 2013. Wrote a Python library for it, but can probably write a contrib node around it just as easily. As for MET.no quality, I’ve experienced forecasts to be about per-minute accurate for areas outside of the UK. They also offer all other kinds of meteorological APIs, which allowed me to create this animation a couple years ago. http://hubsec.eu/files/northern_europe.gif
I created a similar one of the same set of data for central Europe but it’s not currently stored online.

3 Likes

I guess a move to the dark side was inevitable with a name like that. Unless it is an april fools joke !

we shall see - though I trust Apple's privacy policy somewhat more than Facebook, Google, et al...

1 Like

Agreed. As an Android user I no longer have any privacy concerns with the dark sky app.

Yep, the problem I have with apple is not a privacy concern, it is the way they treat their customers by selling them very expensive stuff which often appears to be faulty in some way. I have different model macbooks with different but characteristic model problems which they typically refuse to acknowledge until a class action lawsuit is filed. And even then only offer a limited time for repair.

Not to mention the efforts they put in to make their products as non-repairable as possible.