Time subtraction in a function node

Hi All,

I'm not a programmer by any means. I'm trying to figure out how to measure the seconds/milliseconds between two different node events which should end up around 20.xxx seconds. I'm experimenting with a simpletime node as a trigger, mysecond/my millis checked, then passed to the function. I have divided the seconds by 1 to force it to a number, and the millis by 1000 to get a decimal (and force a number). While watching the debug node, it occurred to me that the seconds wrap over after 59. Now I'm stuck handling this phenomenon. Would I be better off with a simple timestamp?

Russ

Yes. No need for any contrib nodes.

var ts1 = msg.payload; // some other time
var diffMS = ts1 - Date.now();
var diffS = diffMS / 1000;
msg.payload = diffS;
return msg;

Alternatively if you look on the Flows site you will find at least one node that measures the times between messages sent to it, so if you send it a start and stop message it will tell you the time between.

Colin,

I actually found that flow by accident yesterday morning, imported it & piddled with it, then moved on. After your mention, I went back and tried to find it with no luck. In the meantime, I found Bart B's "Interval" node which works just like I'd hoped. I really wanted to accomplish something on my own, but I'm not quite ready yet :weary:

Oh, Steve Mcl, I tried your code and it threw an "NaN". I've seen that before on some of my number puzzle sites, what does that mean?

Russ

NaN = Not a Number

it probably means means msg.payload didnt have a timestamp in it

LIeUPDt7M8

This is easy to confirm be using a debug node.

PS, the code i posted does work. Demo...