Tips for putting node-red in a good light for a presentation

Hello, I've been using node-red casually for a couple years. I'm primarily a technical artist and don't go super deep on the tech side but make my way around. I mostly just send udp between Arduino, RPi and Unity and use node-red to tie things together. I'm giving a presentation at work this Friday to go over some of what I do, but I'd like to know some things from more informed people to make sure I have answers should they come up.

1. What are some of the most important or novel things about node-red that make it worth using? Beyond my use of 'it's really easy to connect stuff', I'm asking what are some other benefits?

2. Are there any security concerns? Anything special to keep systems safe communicating between nodes in a network, or when interacting with outside input. I've not done any work in looking into making sure what is secure and what is not. I'm not an IT guy but I really ought to understand a bit more in that regard.

3. What are some of your favorite projects that have been created that might be a good example to point to?

4. My old workplace used to send tons of data for tracking joints on groups of people. To my knowledge, big json files many times per second. It worked well, at least by the time it got to my endpoint in Unity. But I've read some opinions that huge amounts of data shouldn't be sent through node-red. I have no knowledge of what 'huge' is, or what the size of those json files were, but are there any general benchmarks for how much data can go through node-red? I assume it is also affected by network infrastructure?

Thank you for any info you may be able to give. Primarily I'll be just going over basics, but would love to be a bit more informed.

1 Like