Trigger node: allow sending 1 and 0 to separate outputs

So I'm just getting started with Node-RED within my Home Assistant installation and already I'm finding myself repeating a pattern on a fairly frequent basis: a trigger node followed immediately by a switch node to send the "start" and "stop" states to two different places.

It seems like a reasonably common use case, so I'm thinking about taking a stab at adding a "send 'start' and 'stop' states to separate outputs" checkbox to the trigger node's configuration that, when checked:

• adds a second output to the trigger node, and
  • sends the "off" message to that output instead of the first output

and so that pattern can be done using one node instead of two.

Anyway. Any reason I shouldn't go ahead with that? Alternatively, is there an obvious way to do that with a different node that I've totally overlooked?

A few things come to mind

Start and stops can be lots of things 1,0 "1","0" "start" "stop" "Start" ,"Stop" true,false "true","false" etc etc

And IME - I send start/stop commands down the same route to the same device so I'm wondering how common a use case it would be?

It seems like a reasonably common use case

Perhaps from a home assistant perspective, but many folks don't use that. The trigger node triggers the stop/start ?
And if you are repeating your patterns, perhaps you can make use of topics to differentiate between sources.

Can you explain what you are doing that requires stop and start to go down different routes?

Hi @javawizard

as luck would have it, we already have a PR waiting to be merged to add an optional second output to the trigger node - https://github.com/node-red/node-red/pull/2436

This will be in 1.1.0 as and when that arrives.

1 Like

Perfect, that looks like exactly what I'm looking for. Thanks @knolleary!

To answer some of the other questions that came up:

Can you explain what you are doing that requires stop and start to go down different routes?