Trying to log data to Google sheets

I'll start saying I'm a Javascript novice which I think is the source of my troubles.
The method I'm trying to use is the HTTP request node that connects to a form created via google drive.
The basic idea is here: Sending Data of Wireless Vibration and Temperature to Google Sheets Using Node-RED : 37 Steps - Instructables

In my case, I'm joining 3 nodes to get the following node.

test2/test2/humidity : msg : Object
{
"topic":"test2/test2/humidity", //topic
"payload":
{
"test2/test2/temp_c":"24.90", //payload["test2/test2/temp_c"] 24.90
"test2/test2/temp_f":"76.82", //payload["test2/test2/temp_f"]
"test2/test2/humidity":"34.00" //payload["test2/test2/humidity"]
}
"qos":1,
"retain":false,
"_topic":"test2/test2/humidity",
"_msgid":"4393f367.357e2c"
}

What I am trying to understand is why inserting this into the forms URL didn't work:
...formResponse?usp=pp_url&entry.1464860579={{payload["test2/test2/temp_c"]}}... (snipped for brevity).
What I ended up having to do is to use a function node to copy the data from the object in the payload to 3 separate entries in the payload:

msg.payload.temp_c = msg.payload["test2/test2/temp_c"];
msg.payload.temp_f = msg.payload["test2/test2/temp_f"];
msg.payload.humidity = msg.payload["test2/test2/humidity"];
return msg;

Then I could build the URL like so:
...formResponse?usp=pp_url&entry.1464860579={{payload.temp_c}}...

Then it all worked.
What I am trying to understand is if there is a way I can use payload["test2/test2/temp_c"] (and the other fields) directly and if so, what is the correct syntax?

I went this route and it's worked well - node-red-contrib-google-sheets (node) - Node-RED

Do you have any examples for using that node? That was one of the issues I was running into.
One that that isn't clear to me is what the input to the node needs to be, especially for the append row mode to work.

No problem. I first added a function node to create an Excel timestamp format: