UI builder - Using data from msg.payload in computed classes?

Hi,

first to say I'm not a developer :frowning: so my experience with VueJS etc. is next to none.

What I would like to achieve is using information from msg.payload (eg. msg.payload.icon = "fa-trash-alt", msg.payload.reminder = "fa-spin") to build a computed class looking like:

<i :class="fad fa-trash-alt fa-4x fa-spin"></I>

What I have right now is (index.js)

'use strict';
var app1 = new Vue({
	el: '#muelltonne',
	data: {
		msg: '',
	},
	computed: {
	    muelltonneIcon() {
        let newIcon = '';
      // Test with fixed values is computed class is working in general
        newIcon = "fad fa-trash-alt fa-4x fa-spin";
      // More complicated logic to determine what
      // class should be applied

return newIcon;
	  },
	},
	methods: {},

mounted: function() {
		uibuilder.start();
		var vueApp = this;

uibuilder.onChange('msg', function(msg) {
			vueApp.msg = msg.payload;
		});

// send message back to node-red
		// uibuilder.send({payload:'some message'})

// control message from node-red
		//uibuilder.onChange('ctrlMsg', function(msg) {
		//    console.log(msg)
		//})
	},
});

and the part (code snipped of index.html)

<i :class="muelltonneIcon"></i>

But I have no idea how to put the values from msg.payload into my computed class (instead of the fixed values I'm using right now.

Can everybody give me a hint where I can find some examples?

Many thanks

Michael

Hi Michael,

I dont think you need a computed value in this Vue example.
You could just create a data value.

'use strict';
var app1 = new Vue({
        muelltonneIcon: ''
	},

uibuilder.start();
		var vueApp = this;

vueApp.muelltonneIcon= `fad fa-4x ${msg.payload.icon} ${msg.payload.reminder}`;

});

},
});

More information on binding classes with Vue at this detailed video

1 Like

and i assume you might want to send other messages for other purposes - so I'd suggest you also use a topic to identify the purpose of the message