UIBuilder + low-code + yes/no form options

I'm prototyping a settings panel for an IoT project. At some point I'll hand it off to a real developer, but for now I'm kludging things together to get something up and running. I recently discovered UIBuilder and got pretty excited about what it can do.

To be clear up front: I am not a software engineer. I have a flimsy grasp of some basics, but I can google :slight_smile:

Using the simple-form example, I was able to create a dynamic form that does almost exactly what I want. It is very ugly (just a great long list of form fields), but it is functional. The various form fields are used to set context variables in node-red that I then use in the existing flows.

I'd like to include some "yes/no" form options. It can be a checkbox, pair of radio buttons or something else. I just need a binary choice on/off, true/false, yes/no. Right now I am using a text field and I manually type true or false. While it works, that is clearly not a great solution.

I tried using a checkbox, but I couldn't get the checkbox to render in the appropriate state (checked or unchecked) and it didn't seem to return a useful value when I updated the form and sent data back to node-red. I also couldn't find any guidance for using radio buttons.

I'd welcome any advice anyone has.

Thanks!

Hi Nick, thanks for trying out uibuilder and for heading over from YouTube. Just at work right now but wanted to say that I will respond properly when I get a chance today.

Thanks!

I'm not in a huge rush as the basics are working. They are just a bit inelegant (entirely my fault not yours).

Sorry about the delay.

For a checkbox, it looks like that isn't working correctly because whether you check it or not, you always get back the value "on". So that's a bug! A fix will be forthcoming.

There are probably another dozen or so other ways you could create a yes/no option input. Ranging from toggle buttons, sliders, drop-downs, etc.