Unwanted delay in home assistant call service node, fast switching not possible?

I have this fairly basic setup, consisting of a switch that I use to control a light. The switch triggers a events:state node, a switch node checks which button was pushed, and it sends a trigger to a call:service node.

This works, up to a point. I can't seem to switch the light on and off immediately after switching it on (and vice versa). I always have to wait 15-20 seconds before the call:service node will actually do anything again. The strange part is that, when I put a debug node after the call service node, it registeres the quick succession between clicks. So the call:service node isn't 'busy' or anything, it just doesn't physically switch anything. To be clear: this happens with several switches (Xiaomi and other brands), and with both my Shellies and several brands of smart bulbs.

I'm fairly new to Node-Red, but is there something in the call:service node that I'm not seeing? Like a anti-bounce/rate limiting mechanism of some sort?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I would guess (since you didn't put debug nodes everywhere on your screenshot for us to see the output) that either somehow you are sending multiple on & off in succession. Or the node/service had a deliberate anti-repeat/de-bounce to "help you"

You're right, sorry! I included the debug nodes:

The wall switch indeed seems to send an empty string into the process. But I'm not sure if that's the issue here, since I can click it again right after clicking the first time, and it will send another message into the flow:

In the second image, you can see that I'm clicking the button 1 second later. The call:service node responds with light.toggle called at: April 12, 11:02 even though the physical light did not toggle. I can keep clicking the button, and after 20 seconds or so the light will eventually toggle.

I've included the export of the flow, should that be helpful: