Weather variables - polling state node

Hello everyone,

I’m trying to refine my first automations with nodered. I am very new to NR :frowning:

My automations start with some weather variable meeting a certain condition (rain, wind). I initially thought that a state node would help me read and trigger off my flow but with no success. I then tried the poll state node and my automations did start to do things. This is very much how all of them are configured right now.

One of my automations is “untold the awning” and I would like for that to happen when sun azimuth reaches a certain value and, of course, it is not raining. I also have another automation doing the oposite: if it starts to rain or if the wind picks up, I want for my awning to be rolled back. And of course I don’t want to end up making a fool of myself having the awning unfolded yet the next minute rolled back, that’s why the first automation should only be triggered when the sun azimuth reaches a specific value and not >=, which is how I have it configured right now. If I change the >= to a more restrictive = (or IS), the condition is not met and my awning remains open :frowning:

I’m under the impression that the automation is not triggered because the variable I’m monitoring may never be the exact value I’ve defined as a triggering condition. I have a sensor defined on the azimuth and I’m plotting the values that I see and I believe the discrete value is somehow missed.

Not sure if I’m explaining myself well enough. Of course I could paste my configuration later on (now I’m on my mobile phone).

Thanks,

For something like sun position, it easy to calculate, there a couple of nodes that will do it for you based on a lat long.

It might be easier to start with one of them, go to flows.nodered.org and do a search for “sun”

What test have you used and in what node?

This is a quite sophisticated node available to handle most of your requirements.