Worker or new thread to deal with higher number of tasks and speed up logic?

Hi. Noob here.

I came across a task that was not very suitable to node-red, the first and only for me. I used node-red to search for strings among more than 50k plus items in a array, the file is up to 16MB(image from flow below).

The problem is that is taking over 10 seconds to do that, and sometimes the page that is supposed to display the information “times out”, it time out when more than 3 or 4 requests comes at the same time since the last request will take at least 40 seconds and the page timeout at 30 seconds.

My question is… Is there a way to delegate some of this request to other thread(core, processor, worker...) so more than one request can be dealt at the same time?

I´m using a simple for loop inside the function node. Here a simplified image from that.

Cant you put an index on the mongodb and use SQL like queries instead of looping large data

This will massively speed it up.

Also, unless you post your flow, we cant see if there are any major quick wins in your code.

1 Like

I believe the "slowness" is because node(and node-red) are single threaded.

I believe that someone is going to suggest that I delegate the logic to a python code, but I don´t know any other language besides javaScript(yet).

I´m running node-red in a electron, so I was wondering🤔 if is there a way to delegate to a worker in the editor. I run in electron so the editor is aways open.

That is a nice idea. I´ll try to learn how to do it.
I know zero about Databases, probably will take a long time to learn, but will be worth it.

Any suggestion to where to start?

here and here is where I would start.

The key point is a database is often FAR more efficient at finding things than a custom loop (since they use indexes and algorithms out of my pay bracket to achieve this - its their bread and butter).