Node-RED scope, multi-threading and limitations

I’m an Electrical Engineer and familiar with C#, VB, PLC coding of many types. I have an application on our site that is written in C++ and it has interfaces with PLC’s via RSLinx and OPC Servers of different brands. There is Serial communications to bar code readers and there is integration to printers for production.

There are modifications to the system that are required at irregular intervals. I really like the programming approach and would love to use it directly or integrate it somehow. I’m interested in getting some feedback from those in-the-know about performance of the Node-RED environment. I’m planning on scaling this IoT programming environment to an application which has host to a number of devices (for discussion Max = 36. Usually these have separate channels, threads and a script to go along with each). I’m looking NOT to have a distributed Raspberry Pi architecture.

I was thinking of replacing the C++ application with Node-Red and using the Dashboard or similar for a multi-user interface (Max = 3) on PC’s on the line. Since Node-Red runs as a single thread, do I need to embed multiple instances in an application, and then I wonder is this really asking too much from the platform? Can I multi-thread Nod-RED?

Or, How should I approach this with Node-RED?, and/or use another environment?

Kind Regards,
Kyle

Kyle, I am working on something that I think will help you quite a bit in this effort. I would love to talk to you about it but I cannot make it public yet. I cannot find a way to PM you in this new Discourse forum. Please send me an email at jmorris651 at gmail

Thanks

Joe

Node-RED, being based on Node.JS/JavaScript is never going to perform like a reasonably written C++ application.

However, we don’t have enough info on whether this would be an issue to you.