Worldmap static map files. Left Click events. access polyline mode directly

Hi,
I am designing a small boat navigation system (on a lake) with a GPS (laetia bn880) and a stepper motor to change the direction of the boat. these work fine. I use World map as a user interface on my raspberry pi which is setup as a hotspot but without internet connection (in the boat). The result is of course without internet : no map display.

Is there a relatively simple way to include tiles statically that would still behave like the worldmap interface? (ie get some events) Any suggestion based on experience would be greatly appreciated, because there are many options... open map tiles, mapbox, google maps. etc.. I read the suggestion in the documentation about installing a mapserver using cgi.. I will probably try it but I have no experience in cgi, so I am a bit reluctant to just input commands I do not understand... :slight_smile:

I used polyline to set up the direction and route, but I did not succeed in getting straight into the polylines mode when the drawing layer is selected. I get all menus and colors, is there anyway to get only the polyline icon ?

I managed to get context menus working (from the forum) but I would rather have the ability to just detect single left clicks on the map with the latitude and longitude returned and decide what to do with the click depending on the current mode of operation(idle, navigation, simulation) Anybody knows how to get straight left click events ??

Right now I fake the polyline with context menus, it is not great since, I have to click right. select ok or cancel and continue until last point. Having left click event access would solve my problem about contructing the "route". Also when one selects a "track" polyline in drawing mode, I would like to remove the "route" button since it puts my "route" right on the roads on the shore.... :slight_smile: