Would a wemo insight have to be polled to act on energy usage changes?

...or does a wemo insight node instance on a flow continuously stream usage information?

I'm trying to decide between getting a wemo insight versus another Sonoff S31 15A. The Sonoff (flashed with tasmota) can reach out to my node-red instance when a usage threshold is crossed, but I'm not very good at soldering and besides, the reaction time is slow (3s) and I wanted to try something else. The Wemo insight might be worth a try. I don't like having to poll, but if it could detect usage changes in under a second, it would be better. And I just would like to know what's involved.

Don't know about the Wemo Insight node, but if you are currently using Sonoff/Tasmota, you can send Status from Sonoff over MQTT at a set period.

Conveniently for your case, once MQTT is set up (the Mosquitto MQTT Server can run on same machine as Node-RED - assuming RPi, it will also send MQTT data on Status changes.

Open two Web Browsers and access the Tasmota device on both, get Tasmota Main Menu in one and Tasmota Console page in the other, Toggle output and see status change in the Console.

Someone always comments about MQTT. The webhook is perfectly adequate and only sends when the threshold is crossed. The slowness isn't something that can be solved via MQTT. I debugged the slowness with the Tasmota developers. It's a limitation of the hardware, which does averaging over a 3 second window. I analyzed the log output at length and the data is simply not there to trigger the automations any faster.

The wemo insight node does not poll, it subscribes to events from the device

1 Like

I cant answer regarding the "insight" but maybe you would consider the Shelly 1PM?

It does web hooks, MQTT and alexa/google automation.

1 Like