A few MQTT topics to SQLite

I am very new to this, not a very quick learner but learn most of examples and tips.
But after a few days of struggeling with this I need some pointers about different MQTT topics to put in a SQLite db.

I have a SQLite database with a table that can store:
temperature, humidity, pressure, currendate, currenttime and device.
I can test it with an inject node with:
INSERT INTO dhtreadings(temperature, humidity, pressure, currentdate, currenttime, device) values(19.6, 53.8, date('now'), time('now'), "manual").
With DB Browser for SQLite I can see that it works.

Now I would like to put these 3 different MQTT topics in this database but am only able to put one value in the db. throug the function node with this:
var newMsg = { payload: msg.payload };
newMsg.topic="insert into dhtreadings(temperature) values ("+newMsg.payload+")";
return newMsg;

so I like to ask: how can I put diffent MQTT out nodes in one table?

Have a look at the join node

1 Like

What I've done (in the past) is to write the data from the MQTT nodes to global variables and then once every so often write the variables to the database. If you chose a time/frequency that is longer than the update-time from MQTT then you will always have the latest values.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

Thanks. I did but get confused about how. Do I need to create an array?

I'd create a key/value object as you can then easily refer to the correct value in your following function

1 Like

Thanks again. It looks like that is going to help me get this done.

I added two different MQTT topics (all from one sensor, named BME01 as device name) just to see, and it looks great so far.

Now it is just, how can I put this in one table?

Just be warned that this db is going to get big very quickly (dependent on how often the values are updated of course). If you are using something constrained like a Pi, you are likely to run into serious problems after a while.