All flows have disappeared on AWS hosted system

I have been running a dashboard with some quite complex flows and nodes to show various environmental monitors passing data via MQTT. Node-red is installed on an AWS Ubuntu instance. This morning the dashboard UI is showing "Welcome to the Node Red dashboard" and no content. Accessing Node Red gives me the normal workspace but with no flows visible. The AWS instance has been stable and has not restarted. I have no idea what might have happened for me to have lost all of my content. Does anyone have any pointers of where I should start the journey to trying to recover my system? I'm pretty new to all of this and would be gutted if I had lost all of my work somehow.

Thanks,

Jon

How do you expose your AWS Ubuntu instance to the internet?

It might be related:

As for recovery. Does AWS do backups or snapshots for instances?

A public IP address is linked to the UBUNTU instance. Accessing this is where I am seeing the problem. I have since rebooted the server which has changed the IP address but the problem persists.

I will take a look at the posts that you kindly posted. It's a year ago since I installed all of this I need to refresh my memory on how the AWS install works.

In terms of backups etc. If I look in ~/.node-red I can see a flows.json file which has a lot of content, but I'm not sure whether it is my content or not. It may be the default flows file I suppose.

In newer versions of Node-RED, there is an entry in ~/.node-red/settings.js that tells the instance where the flows should be found. Without this, Node-RED will look for flows_<hostname>.json and therefore, if the hostname is dynamic, node-red will not find a flows file.

In short, set a definite flows file using the setting flowFile: 'flows.json

From the docs:

flowFile
the file used to store the flows. Default: flows_<hostname>.json

See here for more info: Configuration : Node-RED

Thanks Steve.

Looking in settings.js I can see the line