Alternatives to Raspberry Pi?

Hi all,

I am looking for some Linux alternatives to Raspberry Pi/Raspbian that are known to be able to run Node-Red.

Currently using a Raspberry Pi 4 with 4GB RAM and it is fine, but it is a bit "hobbyist' and I want to take my design up a notch. I am far from an expert so any hardware guidance would be most appreciated!

I am using Node-Red to drive a touchscreen HMI interface, to read 2-4 sensors over USB, control 5-10 relay outputs via GPIO headers and connect to other devices over a LAN ethernet connection. I am not currently using Wifi or BLE but i will in the future.

Can anyone suggest some alternatives to the Pi and Raspbian? Thanks

What are you looking for that is not provided by the pi?

How big a notch do you mean ? Intel NUCs are quite nice, as are Fit-PCs, but there are many many small form factor PCs that are more than capable. Old laptops are also great as they have build in screen and battery backup of course.

The PI is working fine - it is more aesthetics, I would prefer something that is not a PI if someone opens up the box. Like I said, the PI is a bit "hobbyist", I want something that looks a bit more industrial or at least is not a PI.

I dont need anything more than the performance of a 4GB PI 4, it seems to be doing the job if you use a fan.

I looked at the mini computers but they seem to not have the GPIO for inputs and outputs. Laptops would be the same.

I made a module that has inputs or outputs and works via a USB port. Up to 64 inputs or outputs per USB port are possible. Management is simple (the corresponding node when it works as an input, and when it works as an output by sending a command via a button / injection / switch). If you are interested I can send you a link to PM.

Maybe some ideas from these two videos?

P.S. Many small scale professional products make use of a Raspberry Pi so there shouldn't really be much to be "ashamed" of it.