AngularJS considered harmful

Since a year I’m a retired “fullstack-developer” who participated in building AV consoles and stream switches. During my last three business years I ported several desktop UI interfaces to web interfaces using libraries and frameworks starting with jQuery over AngularJS, Angular from release 2-9 up to Vue.js. Now as a hobbyist I tinker around with IoT and came to MQTT and Node-Red and like that very much, but have to learn still a lot.

Experiencing the dasboard nodes I found, that they are using AngularJS which make it easy to create new UI widgets, but considered using AngularJS can be harmful. When Google invented Angular 1 (now called AngularJS), it was one of the first nearly complete web-frameworks and a great progress and success related to libraries like jQuery (which it still includes as “light” version). But as single page applications (SPAs) based on it grew, many of them became very sluggish and unreliable. So Google sent the developers back to the drawboard and aborted further development on Angular 1. With Angular 2 strong typing and reactive programming (Typescript & ReactiveX from Microsoft) lead to a complete different framework with a deep (but monolithic) component hierarchy, which should also fit the expectations for very large SPAs.

As Angular 1 was quite popular when Google abandoned it, they called it AngularJS and will support it up to end of 2021 with LTS releases. For that it is a dead end not recommended to be used in new larger / nontrivial projects. But is AngularJS really that bad ? No - but like still popular programming languages as BASIC it has a very tempting, but also harmful feature.

Where the GOTO command was considered harmful by Donald Knuth, as it can destroy the (algorithmic) program structure, AngularJS contains something that can destroy the data integrity.