Anyone using Docker?

Hi,

Lately my eye fell on docker. Which looks a very interesting technology to me. There are also Node-RED docker images.

So I was wondering if there is anyone out there using docker (e.g. on raspberry pi) ?
I am especially interested in any interesting use cases based on docker.

Jan.

Hi Jan,

I have been using Node-Red in docker for about 2 months now. I am running all my stuff in docker containers on a Raspberry Pi 3 using the Hypriot OS. I find it useful to run in docker mainly because i have another VM, which is set up on my laptop and i can easily switch over to it with minimum downtime of services (e.g. Homeautomation), being able to run the same stuff as on the RPi. I use persistent volumes for node-red data, so that when i install new modules, as well as if i rebuild the container the data is always there.

I can use the Exec node as well, even though Node-Red is in a docker container.

If you have any question, feel free to ask.

Regards,
Marin

1 Like

I’m using it via my QNAP NAS (and it’s Container Station facility).

For me it works well, being a container it was easy to set up and run, requiring no additional hardware, just a small allocation of the host’s resources.

1 Like

Hi Marin,

Thanks for your response.

I am bit wondering how this works. I would expect that images for the raspberry pi won't run on your laptop as it is a different hardware architecture (e.g. intel processor versus ARM processor).

So I guess this means that flows are stored in the persistent volume, but does this also mean that the newly installed nodes including Node.js modules are installed in the persistent volume ?

Hi Jan,

About the images, yes they are different architecture, but data is more or less the same (speaking for NR specifically). And yes if you install modules they persist as well, but i usually install module through the palette manager and if required, i enter the container and install using npm manually.

Marin.