Node-Red on Synology

Hello,
Did somebody wrote a good instruction how to install Node-RED on a Synology NAS?
I'm not very good at linux.
Regards
Otto

Depends on your NAS and its capabilities e.g. if you want to use Docker
But try https://www.rs-online.com/designspark/installing-node-red-on-a-synology-nas

(the first hit on google for "Node-red synology install)

I can't really recommend docker on the Synology NAS's unless you have one with a good amount of memory. However, it should work OK as long as you don't try to do too much with it. It is certainly the easiest way to get started as long as you have a NAS that will run docker (not all of them will).

I think that there is a 3rd party NodeJS package for them which would be your other starting point. However, the disadvantage of this approach is that you will likely need to get a bit more familiar not just with Linux but with the way that the Synology NAS uses Linux since Synology don't really want you messing around with the command line.

Personally, though I have one and though it can run Docker - and I have done - I'm already doing quite a lot with my NAS and though I've upgraded the RAM, it still gets bogged down with big backup jobs. So I leave the NAS to do what it is good at - handling files - and use the Pi for Node-RED.

Many thanks for your help.
The link from ukmoose will help me a lot. I can use docker with my DS214!

HI! I tried to install node-red on my synology ds115j. node.js ist running and works but when installing with
"sudo npm install -g --unsafe-perm node-red" i get this?! Any ideas?

npm WARN deprecated mimelib@0.3.1: This project is unmaintained
npm WARN deprecated mailcomposer@2.1.0: This project is unmaintained
npm WARN deprecated buildmail@2.0.0: This project is unmaintained
/volume1/@appstore/Node.js_v8/usr/local/bin/node-red -> /volume1/@appstore/Node.js_v8/usr/local/lib/node_modules/node-red/red.js