Best practice and recommendations

Hey there,
I am a complete newbie in Node Red so sorry for the very basic questions.

I have some devices that I want to handle with NR:

• a smart home system based on the homematic controller based on a a raspi (Raspberrymatic)
  • a management system for solar power based on Venus OS from Victron (on a second Raspi)
  • a Siemens Logo! SPS
  • some Shelly devices

In the future I also want to combine all this with iobroker.

And now the first and initial question is:
Where to install the NodeRed?
I am a complete Linux newbie so Windows would be cool.

Is it feasible to install NR on a windows 10/11 VM on a QNAP NAS?

This has - in my eyes - the following advantages

• installed on a system that rins 24/7
  • independent from all the devices that it shall handle
  • easier to keep the NR most recent

Or woudld it be better to install it on a debian based Linux VM on the QNAP NAS?

Thanks for any hint
Sven

Yes, but that is (IMO) overkill and posses difficulties (like which user runs Node-RED, how to setup a service, unnecessarily running a FULL OS + GUI etc) not to mention all the setup to get NodeJS installed, Node-RED installed etc.

Better, but not the best. You are still running a full(er) OS than a container would and you still need to manage OS updates etc.

Since you can run containers on QNAP NAS, installing Node-RED as a docker image would be far less power hungry and even easier to maintain than having to upgrade OS packages, security patches etc etc.

Here is an older video - but the process has not changed much: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSVWX4ccZ-s

Urk! Maybe feasible if your QNAP has loads of memory. But, as Steve says, not the optimal approach.

If you are already using Docker, that would be a more sensible and less resource hungry approach. Oops, I now see Steve already said that. I'm not a great Docker fan but this is certainly a valid use-case if ever there was one.

Hey guys,
thanks for the hints.