Big Timer how to change payload from 1 to 0 and 0 to 1

This my second day learning node-red and I have no coding experience other than Basic (25 years ago).
Here is the question:
Is there a better way to change default payload output of Big Timer than adding 2 “change” nodes in parallel?

Here is snap shot of change node

A solution using only one change node:

not

Thanks, Definetly better than 2 nodes.
Is there a tutorial on preinstalled nodes covering all possible options?

You could use output 1 of the bigtimer node and get it to send the values you want. No change node needed at all.

Can't see any possible chance to even create such "There is all covered" tutorials. It's like everybody should have it's own printed version of Google. But here you can safely rely on power of Node-RED community :slight_smile: Always up to date.

1 Like

I’ve tried that and couldn’t get it to work
Node-red v0.19.5
Bigtimer v2.1.8
How do I set output 1 of big timer to output numbers instead of strings?

If you absolutely need numbers then you are right. What are you doing that needs them to be numbers?

Controlling gpio pins on rpi to activate relays.
Since initial state of gpio pin is high(1) I couldn’t use default output2 ( 1 for on, 0 for off) of big timer to control it

I don't know, but have you checked whether GPIO Out works with strings "0" and "1"?

Not 100% sure but I think it’s only 0,1
I could have a change node in front of each pin and have different types of payloads to work with, but at this moment I don’t see any reasons why would I want to use something besides 0 and 1. It is a relay and it’s ether on or off.
Also, ones I’m done with this project I would like it to be as simple as possible and easy to troubleshoot.