Books I may need to read?

Dreading what will come back..... But I have to ask.

I know I ask a lot of dumb questions, but....

As NR uses a lot of JavaScript, and my recent problems are with payloads sending fancy stuff to buttons, etc.....

I remember XML being mentioned.

Would it be good to get a book on XML?
XML for dummies as a name off the top of my head.

Kyle Simpson seems to have written some good JavaScript books.

Here is a video of him talking about the future of JavaScript and he mentions a number of books including his own series.

Personally, while I have a collection of reference books, mainly in ebook format, I never use them! The Mozilla Developer Network is the standard online reference guide for JavaScript. In addition, I make very heavy use of Internet searches whenever I'm doing something. I'm not a professional developer and so don't remember even a fraction of the stuff I need even for simple programmes these days so I'm always looking stuff up.

As for XML, unless you are making heavy use of it, I don't know as I'd bother. The principles are simple and very similar to HTML. Most people try to steer away from it now and prefer JSON over XML.

1 Like

Not to mention the copious amounts of vids available on everything IT related on Youtube.

Can I recommend Traversy Media on YT, he is an excellent teacher in many languages and has a great series on javascript.

1 Like

Thanks.

Maybe the youtube links shall suffice. Time will tell.

There is the other problem of memory corruption. So as much as it is good going in, it isn't always guaranteed coming out the same way. :sob:

Wow. That looks like fun.

Am (attempting) to process the first one now - well soon.

(Yeah, I'm getting O/T now, but...)

Is there a node.js beast for Ubuntu?

I just looked at/in the Ubuntu software thingy and entering node.js...... I didn't get anything I can see as being Node.js.

I'll shut up now and get back to watching the javascript clip.