Can only recieve one MQTT message

Hello NodeRED community. I hope everyone is doing well. I am new to MQTT, but it seems very useful! I am having some trouble with it, but let me explain my situation first.

I have a RaspberryPi running DietPi, since this OS makes it so easy to get SSH, NodeRED, and Mosquitto up and running. I have an Arduino-type microcontroller that sends sensor data to the Mosquitto MQTT broker. I am using the help of an Arduino community library for MQTT on my microcontroller. The project requires me to send sensor data once per 15 minutes. I am able to send sensor data once to the MQTT subscribe node in NodeRED and then that's it, NodeRED never receives an MQTT message again, unless I restart my microcontroller or restart the NodeRED flow. After debugging with serial messages, I can confidently say that the flow/logic of my microcontroller's code is not the problem. I suspect I have not setup MQTT correctly, even though everything says it's connected without error messages. Your advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Are you sure your arduino isn’t the culprit? Try installing an MQTT tracking program on another pc or your phone to see what is getting published

Is it possible to easily alter your code so it sends , say every 30 seconds or so ? That way when you follow @zenofmud 's suggestion you'll have more data to look at.

MQTT explorer is the tool to examine what your mosquito broker is receiving from your arduino

1 Like