Cloning performance - using rfdc instead of clone

Hi all,

So I have a use case where on a single instance I have 18K+ nodes across multiple tabs. To modify a single flow I use the modify single flow API (using /docs/api/admin/methods/put/flow/). With that many nodes, the API was taking ~6 secs to return a success. Profiling lead to the conclusion that the clone library was the biggest culprit.

So I did an experiment & replaced the clone library with rfdc in the runtime module. This made quite an impact and the API (modify single flow) time reduced to ~2 seconds. My changes can be seen here on github.

My questions:

• is this approach correct? i am no where close to an expert on node or node-red, thus the question.
  • and is this something that the community would be interested in, if I were to invest more time to make a proper PR out of it?

Thanks.

PS: as a newbie here, I can put more than 2 links hence the improper API link.

1 Like

Hi @asr9 , welcome to the forum.

Wow. I mean WOW.

have you not considered breaking them up across multiple instances? I assume all of the nodes+flows are a single related process? Or are you multi purposing one instance?

It is certainly interesting.

Do you have any flame charts or profiles that can be summarised/ posted for a look see?

Looking at your changes, it looks to be a drop in replacement - a PR would be fairly straightforward. And if you were to raise a PR, it should be based on/targeted to the Dev branch.

That might well be a record!

I can't help but feel that it is time for you to start optimising. :grin:

And certainly even higher in the runtime when using subflows!

We only got about 6-8k nodes in bigger projects. Peanuts compared to that. :nerd_face:

Thank you @Steve-Mcl

Blockquote
Or are you multi purposing one instance?

Yes, I am multi-purposing a single instance.
I will come back with profiling information. Glad to hear this can be of interest.

Blockquote