Combining multiple entity values from HA to form an email message body

Hi all, I’m new to Node-RED, using it on the Home Assistant platform which I’m also fairly new to. Since HA has exposed my printer’s toner cartridge levels as entities I thought a nice first Node-RED project would be to send a weekly email to myself with the different toner cartridge levels.

I can see that the inject node can be set to trigger at a specific time and day so that looks like a good starting point. At the other end of the flow I have an email node that I have configured with SMTP details and emails send fine.

At the moment, in the middle of the flow, I have current-state nodes which I’ve configured to retrieve the values of the toner cartridge entities. I can get a single current-state nodes to pass its value through to the email body but I’m struggling to combine multiple current-state nodes. I’ve been trying to use the join node but I can only get it to work if I have separate inject nodes working in conjunction with each current-state node. Great that it works, but I don’t want to have to set the trigger interval on every inject node.

A further consideration that I haven’t begun to look at yet is that once I have the key/value pairs of the toner cartridges and their toner levels it would be nice to wrap all this with some friendly message text.

In summary, it feels like the ‘architecture’ of my flow isn’t quite right, so grateful for any pointers about the best way to approach this. Thanks!

Just a guess as I do not use HA and you have not shown your flow.

Connect the current state nodes in series. After each current state node move the payload/response to a holding variable then at the end use the holding variable to create the email. You can use a template node to create a template email.

Thanks for that thought about processing in series @E1cid - I'll give it a go.