Convert modbus float [array] register to value

Hello,

I am very new at Node-red but I am trying to create a dashboard for some of the modbus data of a syste. However, I am having problems reading 32-bit floating point values (16-bit integers are ok). And I was hoping someone could help me with this.

The information I want to read is a the voltage of the system, and it is contained by two registers (209/210). I am using a very simple stetup to read the registers, convert them into a foat buffer and finally to a decimal value.

For getting the float buffer I am ussing the following code

var payload=msg.payload;
var buf = Buffer.alloc(4);
buf.writeFloatBE(payload);
msg.payload=buf;
return msg;

For getting the decimal valules (found in one of the forum topics):

let pay = msg.payload;
const buf = Buffer.allocUnsafe(4); // (4) is ok
buf.writeUInt16BE(pay[0]); // high byte
msg.payload = buf.readFloatBE(0);
// 2 numbers after comma (string)
msg.payload = buf.readFloatBE(0).toFixed(2);
//
return msg;

But the values I get are not ok. Could anyone help?

If that payload is an array you cant just write it as a float to the buffer.

you could use this node

modbus data --> buffer-parser --> any value you want

Thanks but i am afraid I still dont know how to use that node. I tried using it but I get either a syntax error "Unexpected token p in JSON at position 0" or a type error "Cannot read property 'resultType' of undefined". Do you have some examples how I should use it?

There are lots of examples in the built in sample...

CTRL+I > import > examples.

If you give me a copy of your data (the buffer data you are feeding in) and what you need out 9the formatted data out of buffer-parser) I'll knock up a simple example.

Share your flow (select the relevant nodes in your flow then press CTRL+E)

```
paste your flow between 3 backticks - like this
```

EDIT... these are the examples included...

Hi Steve,