Convert rssi object to number

Hello everyone,

first, i am new to Node Red and therefore not an expert in this field.

I am currently trying to get a "Sensor Health" Segment for my Dashboard.
I am using the different Sensor-Values to display the health of the Sensor. For example the battery-life and signal strength.
My problem is in the Signal Strenght value (rssi). Because the rssi-Value is stored as an object in the msg.payload.rssi i cannot build an if-function which compares it to another int/float value.
For the battery health it is no problem because msg.payload.decoded.vdd returns me an integer value.

Is there a solution to get an integer value for the stored msg.payload.rssi ?

For information:When i am using the artless gauges it is no problem to show the rssi value simply by passing the object to the gauge.
But when i want a custom LED to show either red, green or orange for different rssi values it is not possible because as i said above, it comes as an object and not as a string.

I dont know if i just cant use javascript properly because i am new to this or the workauround is somewhere else. Hope someone can help me out.

If you need any more information, i can deliver :slight_smile:

Sorry for the english, i am from germany.

Cheers and thanks a lot
Marius

You need to use a debug node to understand what data you are actually getting - then you can share that with us so that we can help. Generally an RSSI will be a number. But maybe it is a string containing a number?

1 Like

If you just want to get hold of the rssi value and compare it with <some_number> then you could do this in a function node.

let rssi = msg.payload.rssi;
if (rssi  <= -85 ) {
blah
blah
blah
}
1 Like

rssi
These are the debug data's i am getting.
The vdd value i cant use and compare to other integer values and it works perfectly fine.
But the rssi value i am getting is stored in an object and i dont know what kind of object this is.
function