Dashboard - Multiple Viewers

Good Afternoon!

I apologise in advance, as I'm just a humble PLC automation engineer and (currently) have limited knowledge of the world of JavaScript development. However, that's what brought me into the wonderful world of Node-Red, so I could avoid that and still get done what I need to :slight_smile:

So, I have connected a Siemens PLC controlled machine to Node-Red. I've created a dashboard, and I'm able to display all of the data I need to, essentially just using the dashboard to read PLC values in a live state. It's great!

However... I can only view this dashboard on my laptop and only when I'm plugged into the PLC. The aim is to have a dashboard available for anyone on our LAN (or via website access?) to double-click a desktop shortcut, and it'll just bring up the dashboard. This will then be shown in meetings, kept logged in on TV's around the site, etc.

But when I attempt to type in the 127.X.X.X:1234/ui into another PC's browser, it fails to show anything. I appreciate it'll be my lack of skill in this, but could someone please point me in the direction of how I can fully 'publish' my dashboard for others to view?

Thank you so much in advance!

• Automation Dad

Hi @AutomationDad - welcome to the forum.

Firstly, Dashboard is not really multiple user (there is no individual login system with role based access) - but multiple users can view the dashboard.

127.x.y.z is a loopback addresses - these are used for testing and not accessible outside of the device.

The IP address of the computer will be something like 192.168.x.y or 10.176.x.y or 172.x.y.z

Check your computers network configuration.

If you need more help, then you will need to provide more details - e.g. is this running on windows? linux? mac? docker? How is the device connected to the network? Does it have a firewall blocking port 1234? etc.