Documentation Suggestions

This is really a Q for @knolleary et al. The background is that I am an experienced developer / sysadmin with no karma on this project, but who now seems to use Node-RED for personal use. As with many FLOSS projects, the documentation is extremely thin in many areas as a result of resourcing limits and priorities. This doesn't bother me too much personally as I just go through the github node-red and node.js module sources to work out how to do what I want.

However I sometimes think that general users might find some of these points sufficiently useful to merit adding to the documentation set. So what is the preferred way of doing this? I see that Nick points would-be contributors to this forum. Do you want one topic per putative change, and what is the convention for tagging such threads?

I will use one topic area by way of example: the MySQL node. I feel that it would help general users if some richer examples were included in the documentation that cover the following as these can considerably simplify the companion Function nodes:

• A query can contain multiple SELECT statements, and the returned payload is an array of RS
  • Multi-row INSERT. You can insert multiple rows into a table with a single MySQL node call using the VALUES ? clause if the BV is an array of row arrays. A bit counter-intuitive, but very fast.
  • Using a MySQL node as a loopback companion to a function so that the function can call MySQL many times.

Hi Terry!

Node-RED, being a FLOSS project, welcomes contributions from its whole community.
If you've an experience to share, I'm sure your PR would be highly appreciated - especially when it improves the documentation!

2 Likes

A quick question (maybe a stupid one):
I was trying to share a "how-to" document which I thought would be useful to the community. However, I was not able to upload it to the forum (it is a Word document, and the upload rejects this doc type).
So, how do I upload such documents?