Does integration with HA offer anything extra?

I'm quite new to home automation so I've been trying out various platforms; at the moment it seems like Node-RED best suits my needs. For example, based on node-red-contrib-rfxcom and node-red-contrib-telegrambot, it only took me a couple of minutes to design a flow that sends me a Telegram message whenever my RFXCom receives an event from a KlikAanKlikUit (KaKu) motion sensor.

It seems though that a lot of people are using Node-RED in combination with Home Assistant. I had a look at this as well, but ran into various issues so for now I have dropped Home Assistant.

I'm wondering whether I'm missing out on anything or might regret dropping Home Assistant in the future. Would the integration with Home Assistant provide any clear advantages for simple home automation?

The only advantage that I'm aware of so far is that Home Assistant can automatically discover devices, but in Node-RED I can easily write all messages from the RFXCom to the debug log to discover the device id (topic) and payload.

Some notes:

• The RFXCom is my only device interface for now; I don't have any short-term plans to add ZWave/Zigbee/...
  • My home server is almost completely dockerized, having a single Docker Compose file that starts all services including Node-RED and Home Assistant. As such I was running plain Home Assistant; I don't want to use hass.io as this requires changes on the host system.

I did look at HA I think. Before I got into Node-RED, I'd tried a few different home automation systems but found them all too restrictive for my needs. Also nowhere near as much fun as creating something myself.