DS18b20 80deg readings can it be filter out in Node Red

Hi I am using the 1 wire node to read 3 ds18b20 sensors on the Raspberry Pi 4 they are the only things I have connected to it. I only read the sensors every 10 minutes via a trigger node. Every now and then I get a reading come through saying 80 DEG C, My question is is there away I could filter the reading so I only get readings say between 10 DEG C and 40 DEG C. I am new to Java so please be gentle with me.

Yes, but we have to be sure of what your sensor sends exactly. Show us the debug output of this sensor.

For example:

• If it is a number (e.g. 10 / 40 / 80) then a simple switch node will filter this.
  • If it really is a string of 10 DEG C then my first recommendation would be to change the source to output numbers, but if that is not possible then you need to first parse the text into a number. The quickest way is in a function node using parseInt(msg.payload) (I am asuming msg.payload until you show us the debug output of this sensor)

Luckily, this is JavaScript :wink:

Here's a simple demo flow using a switch node and a function node to filter between 10 and 40 inclusive.