Email-in node occasionally gets stuck fetching

I've been using the email-in node for a few months now. And 3 times now, I have noticed that it has gotten stuck. I haven't looked into it very deeply yet, but I noted it wasn't working all day yesterday, so yesterday evening, I took a look and it had a blue "fetching" label.

I use a cronplus node to trigger it every 60 seconds (so I can manually trigger it occasionally).

I redeployed and all the backed up emails came through. Similarly, the previous couple times, I'd rebooted and it flushed out.

Any tips on how to prevent it from getting into this stuck state or else catch it with a deadman switch and somehow give it a kick?

How about a countdown timer that gets reset when ever mail comes in. If the timer triggers, have an exec node run a bash script that will stop and start NR?

Yeah. I'm unfamiliar with the countdown timer, but that's exactly what the dead-man-switch node does. It hadn't occurred to me to use exec to restart NR. Doh!

But I might be able to make it a bit smarter... I assume that if I don't receive an email, the email-in node doesn't spit anything out. I get 2 types of emails. One is a very infrequent, but very important email from a water sensor in the basement. Another is a usually frequent email from a security camera (which I ONLY use because it's the only easy way I know of the get a still image from SightHound - that I forward via SMS).

The cam email is always preceded by a webhook call. So I would want to restart NR in the event that the webhook is not followed by an email say, within 2 minutes. I've done designs like this before, but they're a bit clunky. I usually change a flow variable and check it. I could have the email set a flow variable (indicating an email was received). I could have the webhook go into a 2m delay, followed by a check of the flow variable. If it's false (no email received), trigger a restart.