Environment variables outside settings.js file

Hi, after read several messages I still have some troubles, could you please help me?
I have never used environment variables before.
Now, in settings.js I've added "env: process.env" just below " functionGlobalContext: {" like this:

functionGlobalContext: {
    env: process.env

Moreover, following other post and documents I've modifided the module.exports = { section like this:

module.exports = {
process.env.HOSTNAME = require('os').hostname();
process.env.FOO = 'just another bar';

but in this way it doesn't work. In order to make it works I had to write it as following:

module.exports = {
test1: process.env.HOSTNAME = require('os').hostname();
test2: process.env.FOO = 'just another bar';

I don't know if it's correct but is the only way I was able to make it working.
So, in this way I can use the environment variables set inside the settings.js file.
But I have 2 more needs:

• I would have the environment variables writes in an external file rather than inside settings.js. How can I do this?
  • I would even pass as variables users and passwords, for nodes that requires connection like mysql, mqtt, etc.

Briefly, since I have the some project for several users, I would like to have jast one file where to make these changing and let it read and passed to the flow at load, when node-red starts.
Thanks

I like very much this documentation on Environmental Variables. It explains how to modify the settings.js file to add them. You should add the environmental variables in the beginning of the file, not inside module.exports

https://flows.nodered.org/flow/8a13d11dfe80e279df83341e3e17bcc1

Thanks a lot Andrei. I already saw it, but I misunderstood where to declare the variables. Thanks for pointing it out again. Now it works perfectly.