Excel spreadsheet values to S7 PLC variable

Hello there, I'm new to using node red and I am wondering if it's possible to read a value off of an excel spreadsheet and use it as a variable on a PLC. The project is to clock times for workers on how long they take. I want to be able to set a schedule on an excel spreadsheet and have the schedule load on the plc with which I will then eliminate values from the schedule as things are finished.

Yes, but you have to run nodes7 library instead of available nodes

examples can be found: Siemens reading from PLC with nodeS7 npm

This is a lot of help thank you, I'm now using the nodes7 library, do you think it's possible to send information from your software back to the PLC, I see in your example you are using read values, but I still need to give feedback from the database and have the PLC read the value and adjust a schedule.

Hi, here you're discussing two very different things:

1. For loading the excel values into node-red, I'd say just save the file as .CSV (pure comma-separated text), read it and parse it to turn it into a JSON. The easiest way is using the default csv node.