Garage door automation

I’m new to using Home Assistant and someone suggested that Node Red might be able to accomplish an automation I want to create.

I want my garage door to open when I approach it, however I only want this to happen if I’m not walking, as I do walk around my neighborhood a lot. Using Bluetooth or other devices attached to the cars is not an option I want to try. What I would like to do is set up several zones and use those with timers. Here is what I’m thinking of.

Since my house can be approached by car in 3 directions, I want to setup zones Z1, Z2 and Z3, which are sufficiently far enough away from my house that traveling by car I will easily reach my house in less than 3 minutes, but far enough that one couldn’t walk there that fast. My garage is located off an alley, so I will zones GarageSouth and GarageNorth. If my phone is detected in any of the Z zones and within 3 minutes the phone is detected in either Garage zone, the door should be opened. I can already control my garage and monitor it’s state from Home Assistant, so that part isn’t a problem.

Would Node Red be a good solution for this project? Now to complicate it further, I’d like to have this work for my wife as well using her phone. Also consider the fact that we might be in the same car! Issuing multiple open commands won’t be an issue, but the solution should not open the garage if my phone enters a Z zone and then my wife’s phone enters a Garage zone (let’s say she is walking home). It should be the same phone for both zones. And they should not “step on” each other, so if both of us are in separate cars and we each enter a Z zone about the same time, each of us should have 3 minutes to get to a Garage zone.

Any suggestions on how I should proceed with this project?

What mechanism do you plan to use to determine where the phone is?