Getter Modbus: No response

Hi All.

Firstly I am new to Node-Red and to this forum and look forward to many discussions!

I am beginning a small project where I hope to set up a dashboard monitoring the performance of my Solar panels. My Solax inverter supports data exchange and I hope to use node-red to pull the data I need. I am running node-red on my windows machine for now and then I hope to switch over to my R-PI as a host once my dashboard is functioning.

I have fixed the IP of my inverter and I can ping it successfully. I have created a basic flow using an injector, Modbus Getter and debug.

I have then set up the Modbus getter with the following settings

also , here are the server settings I have entered

When I inject a time stamp, i get no response at all. Any ideas?

I have followed this tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yci6Z35J3C0

Thanks...I hope the screenshots display correctly !

Will

First impression is that you're using FC4 instead of FC3 to pull your data. Most MODBUS modules like FC3 when making requests. You can still have multiple registers returned (i.e. your 99), but it gives the controller a starting point to start returning data from instead of an array of data to return.

Also, do you need 99 register returns? That seems like quite a lot. You should have a register list for your inverter somewhere. They possibly exist in the manual or in a spec sheet online. If you're looking for performance, you'll want that as you'll only need things like power in, power out, input volts and so on. At most, you're looking at less than 20 registers, and they may not all be contiguous. You may also be trying to pull registers that don't exist, which will cause your inverter controller to reject the request.

Hello Will

I checked the youtube video you referenced and tried to get my hands on a manual for your inverter, the latter without luck.