Hi Noob here trying to understand node RED and SSH Client Output

I'm trying to do a SSH using SSHV2. and I got it working. It now outputs msg: Object in an array[1]. Now how do I use this? I guess a Function Witch I know nothing about. and looking for your visdom here:)

This is what the debug is outputting.. Now i'm after the values "running" or "shut off"

msg : Object
object
code: 0
stdout: array[1]
0: string
4 Hydra-vm-Name running
stderr: array[0]
_msgid: "ed0d16cd6cc99354"

You are going to need to supply a lot more context here if we are going to be able to help you.

• Explain in plain English what you are trying to achieve here
  • Exactly which nodes are you using?
  • Show the flow and explain what it is doing and exactly where the output you've shown has come from.

First guess is that you should expand the stdout array to see what the single entry in the array is.

@Stian this page in the docs provides a guide to understanding the output in the Debug sidebar and how to identify the path to any element of the message object.

https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/messages

1 Like

Also I recommend watching this playlist: Node-RED Essentials. The videos are done by the developers of node-red. They're nice & short and to the point. You will understand a whole lot in about 1 hour.

1 Like

Hi yes I ham trying to turn off a KVM VM at night I had been using a script on Linux to do it. But now with Home Assistant and NR. I would like for the Kids to be able to Turn it on off with a switch. I have made the Switch and it runs the SSH bash command fine. But I would like to get the state of the machine in NR. and I installed the addon SSHv2 and it is working. I have added the debug output. and I am after the running in that string 0: so I can feed it into a switch then if machine is on or off turn it on or off using Call service. I am sorry but I can not acces my machine at the time to get the flow out.