How to listen for windows events?

Hi! I'm new to Node-RED and transitioning from EventGhost. I'm trying to rebuild some scripts I had in EventGhost in Node-RED, but I can't figure out a way to listen for windows events. I searched the forum, but couldn't find anything about windows events. EventGhost had native support for listening to events, but it doesn't look like Node-RED does. Could anyone point me in a direction to look into or have any solutions? Not sure if it helps at all, but I can code in Python.

Thanks in advance!

If you want to get windows event log entries, you can use powershell (either as a script you call using exec node or by installing a powershell node)

Example:

Get-EventLog -LogName System -Newest 5 |  ConvertTo-Json

inject -> exec -> JSON node

I'm assuming then i would need this to be looping constantly, searching for the event I want to react to?

That is one way. How quickly do you need to be receiving and reacting to the events?

There are other routes. for example, you could write a c# deamon program that uses EventLogTraceListener Class (System.Diagnostics) | Microsoft Learn, listens for your specific event, then sends it to node-red via MQTT/HTTP/other

Or you could try adding windows-event-reader - npm to the setup tab on a function node & see if that works. (see this article for using modules in a function node)

Depending on how instantaneous you need this will likely determine your path.

I would like it to react in less than 5 seconds, but the faster the better.

I was just thinking of something similar but with Python since that's what I'm familiar with. I started working on a solution that used Windows Task Scheduler, but couldn't figure out how to get the data from Python to Node-RED. Do you have any recommendations on on how to go about using MQTT/HTTP/other? I'm not familiar with anything.

I'll look into everything as well and see what I can do.

Thanks!