I am aiming to create a node with multiple selection generated dynamically from an HTTP request

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here and I'm new to NodeRED and to js/HTML in general - I'm usually a backend guy -. I therefore have zero experience so please, forgive me :slight_smile:.

I followed the tutorial on how to create a new node, and I have created several slightly more complicated based on that. Now I'd like to do something more useful even though I realize that matters get a lot more difficult.

What I'd like to do is:

1. Call an HTTP API - remote server - that returns a JSON.
  2. Being able to have that JSON available in the HTML file, in order to generate the menu I want using the TypedInput Widget " Select multiple items from a list of options"
  3. Return the list of selected options when the user pushes the "Done" button.

So regarding point 1, I have implemented the HTTP call in the .js file:

module.exports = function(RED) {

function JsonNode(config) {

RED.nodes.createNode(this,config);

const https = require('https')

const url = "https://test345.free.beeceptor.com/test";

https.get(url, res => {

let data = '';

res.on('data', chunk => {

data += chunk;

});

res.on('end', () => {

data = JSON.parse(data)

console.log(data)

})

}).on('error', err => {

console.log(err.message)

})      

}

RED.nodes.registerType("json-ex1",JsonNode);

}

Again, because based on what I found, I think I understood that's the best way to call a remote endpoint.
Then, for point 2, based on what I have seen, I should loop into the result and build the multiselect using the oneditprepare method. So I realize this is a newbie question, but how would I access data retrieved from the previous HTTP call here?
Regarding point 3 instead, I do realize that the function corresponding to the action I mentioned earlier is the oneditsave but again, I could not find an explanation of how to access the multiselect output.

I hope my explanation was clear,