I am new to Node-RED and I am trying to load the csv file from windows in my Node-RED but the file is not found

Error: ENOENT: no such file or directory
I am using Node.JS version :v16.14.0
and Node-RED version: v2.2.2

In windows, you have to use \\

e.g a file called C:\myfolder\myfile.csv needs to be accessed using C:\\myfolder\\myfile.csv

[edit] I used to think this was true but it doesn't seem to be for this node at least :confused:

Thank you for your response. I have tried that too.
But the error is still the same with double Backslash:
"Error: ENOENT: no such file or directory, open 'C:\Users\ACER\Desktop\auroral project\csvFiles\siteinfo.csv'"
Do you have any idea on this??

can you move the file into a folder without a space in its name?

Does it work then?

Note - in the forum if you want to get \\ to show up, you have to type \\\

[edit] Just tried on my Windows 11 machine

And it actually works without \\ as well which was a bit surprising :slight_smile:

I tried to copy the file, make a new folder and use it without space.
It doesn't seem to work.
"Error: ENOENT: no such file or directory, open '"C:\\csv\\siteinfo.csv"'"

This seems surprising. I am trying to do the same thing for a while now.
May be I have to start the entire process again.
Thank you very much for your effort. :slightly_smiling_face:

In Windows you can use either forward or back slashes, so in node-red use forward slashes and that makes life simpler,

If you are putting a filename into a field in a node then the double backslashes should not be necessary. It is when you are defining a string in javascript that you have to escape it. But by far the simplest is to use forward slashes.

2 Likes

Try it with single forward slashes

Just checking : Your browser and Node-red are both running on the same PC, as opposed to for example Node-red on a Raspberry Pi and browser on Windows?

You are running node-red natively on windows (ie. not running in a docker container) ?