Is Node red able to control any software under windows?

Hi, i'm new to node red, is it possible to control any windows application? I have to write nodes in JS? Would python work? The app is called Unreal Engine from Epic game.
The idea would be to define some voice control using Snips.ai, to trigger some commands inside Unreal.
It would be awesome if somebody could guide me roughly trough the main workflow, so that i can discuss this with the right person in my network contact
Thanks for your help.

Node-RED is totally JavaScript as it uses Node.js under the skin. There is a Python function node but there isn't a realistic way to write nodes in Python.

You can also use the exec node to call Python scripts.

You can certainly use Node-RED with Windows, I do all my development on it. You can call windows applications using the exec node or you can call out to PowerShell if you need more OS control.

A quick search showed a JavaScript extension for the Unreal Engine so maybe that would help?

If the unreal engine has some sort of API (perhaps a rest interface) you can totally do this within node-red without any python or other intermediate software.

Do you have a list of protocols/interfaces that permit control the unreal engine? If so, let us know and we can certainly point you in the right direction.

I asked my friend wo uses unreal, he said the way we can control Unreal is with a Socket system, ip and port, or since the last version over direkt http commands.
Would this help?
Over the javascript extension I dont know how do do it.
Thanks for the reply.

Both are possible and actually the primary way to use node-red and no javascript is required as it is part of node-red.

TCP sockets and http interfaces are the bread and butter of node-red.

Http should be the easiest unless they use odd headers or difficult security.

Socket would probably be faster.