Is this possible to achieve with NodeRed?

I have never used NodeRed before and I wanted to ask this question here before embarking on a journey of how to use NodeRed only to find out it is not capable…

First a bit of background. I have an alarm system which does not have an API or any push notifications other than unofficial hacks. It does send notification emails when certain events take place. Since my phone, like most others, only provides a brief notification when an email is received wanted to find a solution where I can receive an WhatApp call as this is instantly more noticeable and hardly easy to miss. It could also alert other users too.

So, my question is this – can NodeRed monitor an email account for messages from a particular address and extract the data from within its structured format and then make a voip call to WhatsApp and autoplay some audio?

I’m guessing you’d expect the email to have push notifications for a timely response and then regex to extract the data. Text to voice for the WhatsApp message, maybe?

Is any of this possible with NodeRed?

Many thanks

Yes.

As long as the data is consistent and reasonably structured.

Not entirely sure as WhatsApp isn't terribly accessible.

However, if you are happy to use Telegram, that is likely to be a lot easier.

Indeed, and even then, there are no delivery time guarantees on email. It isn't uncommon for emails to take minutes to be delivered.

I seem to remember that there are nodes for this.

For reliability, you may wish to consider an alternative approach. Assuming that your alarm has an internal sounder, you could set up a simple sound detector and use that to trigger a flow rather than trying to wait for an email to be delivered.

Thanks for this :grinning:

I'm not adverse to Telegram (in fact I hadn't even given it consideration) but thought WhatsApp was used more and hence more likely to have some integration in NodeRed. If telegram is easier to implement then so be it...