Listening to key input from other pi devices in the dashbord

Hello everyone, this may sound like a dumb question but I am very new to node-red and was wondering if you had any thoughts on this.

I am running node-red from a main Windows device. I have multiple pi devices that I would like to listen for keystrokes and have it displayed in my node-red dashboard. That is the primary goal and was wondering if you had thoughts or suggestions on what to do.

So far, I have seen that to get messages from pi devices, the best way is to use MQTT to send messages out and then have node-red receive them with the MQTT module. Still not sure how the keystrokes would be sent through an established MQTT. Is this the best method or is there something else that’s better? I think once I get the keystrokes received in node-red then I can handle the display of it via changing a label’s variable to equal the payload, but it’s the steps in between where I am stuck.

Thank you in advance

Are you running node-red in the Pi?
If so have you worked out how node red can detect key presses?

I have not. I currently run node-red on the Windows machine that I am expecting to retrieve display from the pi. I wasn’t sure what the best way would be...

Keyword for transferring info between machines is spelled "MQTT"...as you already have found...so forget my comment

Node-red on pi does have a keyboard node that grabs key codes and and Mqtt node to send them

I am not sure what you mean by that. I thought you wanted to pickup keypresses.

If it is keypresses you want to pickup then you will need to run something in the pi to pick them up and publish them to MQTT on the Windows machine. I would do that by running node-red on the Pi. Alternatively if you know Python you could run a Python app on the Pi which does the publish.