Looking for examples to use node-red-contrib-ikea-tradfri

I'm quite new to node red, but have managed to send values to my Tradfri light via function node to tradfri-light-control node with

msg.topic = 1;
msg.payload.colorTemperature = myColorTemperature;   // from 0=warm to 100=cold
msg.payload.brightness = myBrightness;   // from 0=dark to 100=bright

I like the way that I can select the specific light bulb directly from the node via drop-downs, so I don't have to deal with instanceIDs on the lower level. However I haven't managed to get the values FROM the device. With a tradfri-monitor node I can see events and it would be possible to search for objects that match on a "low-level" way, but is there a better way? The tradfri-state node needs to have the instanceID as an input, so I'm wondering wow this node should be used.

Has anybody got an example how to use this?

according to the readme, that is what you'd use to get state.

Where you say "search for objects" i think if you use a switch node to filter the messages coming out of the monitor node you can then direct them to a different path(flow). You can then use a change node to move the value of interest into msg.payload as the incoming msg should will always be the same format. I.E. No need to "search".

I always recommend watching this playlist: Node-RED Essentials. The videos are done by the developers of node-red. They're nice & short and to the point. You will understand a whole lot more in about 1 hour. A small investment for a lot of gain.

Hi Steve-Mcl,

thank you for your comments! I've followed you suggestion to watch the videos - and learned a lot! With a switch node I was able to filter messages from the tradfri-monitor node based on the internal instanceIDs of the light bulb, so thank you for pointing me in the right direction. Now I can use the Tradfri remote control, buttons or the IKEA app to change the light and forward that change to my Loxone home automation system and vice versa.