Looking for some insights

So I am still relatively new to Node-Red but the more I dive in the more the wheels start spinning. I have a daily problem that I have been looking to create a some sort of solution to for some time now and think node-red may be it......just struggling to wrap my head around how......

I implement and support a particular video management software on a daily basis, software is great however it lacks one key feature...the ability to export configurations in a useable format. I have several sites I support in the 500+ camera range, if I want i want to export a simple device list I can, but only in PDF format. This PDF is often in the 1000+ plus page range....

What I am looking to do is use Node-Red to interact with either the software's SDK or SQL database directly to pull configs, separate the responses and format into excel or any other sort/filterable format. My thought process is to create a dashboard with tabs.....a tab for authenticating with current status indicator....connected/disconnected.....a tab with user selectable options that build the call to the software and a tab to select/export the file. Ideally I also would like to have a monitoring tab that connects to the software's event stream showing system messages and device status.

I know Node-Red can so what I want.....just trying to figure out how.....looking for any insights, suggestions, experiences, etc from the community. The solution I am trying to create would have many uses and not just on this particular software.....I have other systems that I am looking to do similar for.....This particular software is solely Windows based with an SQL db and C# SDK.......I have another system that is embedded linux based (locked down by mfr) , PostgreSQL and XML API and one that runs on linux, arm and Windows with a mySQL db and REST API (this one seems to be by far the simplest to interact with)....Thanks in advance hoping someone may be able to point me in the right direction.